Economical Beauty: Make Your Makeup Work Harder

As much as I enjoy shopping for new makeup, the realities of life often stop me in my tracks when I review my basket online or reach the self-checkout in Boots. I have to ask myself if I really need that new lipstick or highlighter.

Of course, most of the time I don’t, and I can probably make do with what I already have. This is especially true in the summer, when I want to save money for not only my normal expenses, but also holidays, events and trips to see friends and family. Luxuries like makeup are likely to be sacrificed (or at least limited, because sometimes you’ve gotta treat yo self).

On the upside, this is where you can give your current makeup a new lease of life. Although many products claim to do one thing, in reality, they can be multi-purpose with a bit of ingenuity.

If you take some time to look at your makeup collection and experiment with it, you’ll find that many products can be used in different ways. In fact, it’s when I don’t have money to buy new makeup that I’m more creative and resourceful with what I already have.

So, here are my tips for making your makeup work harder:

 

Use blush and bronzer as eye shadow

I do this on pretty much a daily basis, mainly because I don’t have time to do proper eye shadow or liner before work. After applying blush or bronzer, I pick up a little more on the brush and sweep it across my socket line, giving my eyes more colour and definition. When I have more time, I like to use my RCMA cream blush in CTV as an eye shadow, which blends smoothly into the skin and gives a pretty peach shade to my eyes.

 

Use eye shadow for brows

At the start of my brow routine, I use eyeshadow to fill in my brows. I use NYX Hot Singles Eyeshadow in S.O.S as it’s a matte, grey-toned brown shade that matches my eyebrows. If you own an eye shadow that matches your brows (which is likely if you own a palette or series of natural eyeshadows, which include browns and blacks), use an angled brush to apply the eyeshadow to your brows.

 

Layer lipsticks

Create a whole new shade by layering two lipsticks or mixing them together on the back of your hand first, then apply to the lips. This is a really simple trick to instantly create a new shade of lipstick and liven up your look.

 

Use eyeshadow as blush and highlighter

Just as you can use blush and bronzer as eye shadow, you can make your eye shadow work just as hard as a blush or highlighter. Pinks, peaches and oranges all work well for blush. Just apply the eye shadow in small amounts and build it up to give your cheeks some colour. Shimmery eye shadows in frosty white, champagne and golden shades can be used as a highlighter.

 

Use a pin point brush to line the lips

You might not have a lip liner for every lipstick you own, and you might not want to go out and buy one. So instead, apply a thin lip brush to the lipstick you’d like to wear and use this to line your lips.

 

Always seek inspiration

There are literally millions of makeup ideas on Pinterest, Instagram and Bloglovin. Have a scroll through, save your favourite pictures, then see if you can recreate some of these looks using the products you already have. You’d be surprised at how much your makeup can do with some fresh ideas and inspiration. You can create a whole new look and feel like you’ve used fresh, new products without spending a penny.

 

Do you have any tips and tricks of your own? Share them in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “Economical Beauty: Make Your Makeup Work Harder

    1. Thanks for reading 🙂 glad to hear I’m not the only one who does this! Eye shadow can have many uses as it’s basically the same as other powder products. I think cosmetics companies just want us to spend more and buy separate products for everything!

      Like

Leave a Reply

